Deakin AllPlay wins prestigious award

Deakin has won the prestigious Australian Financial Review (AFR) Higher Education Award for Community Engagement for its AllPlay Learn program which creates new pathways for school and community inclusion for children with disabilities.

The Deakin Child Study Centre’s AllPlay research program was launched in 2016 with Moose Toys as a founding partner. AllPlay Learn is a key pillar of the program helping to create inclusive education environments for children and young people with developmental challenges and disabilities through practical online information, courses and resources for teachers, as well as information and resources for parents, children and the community.

In accepting the Community Engagement award, Director of the Deakin Child Study Centre and AllPlay Learn founder Professor Nicole Rinehart paid tribute to the role many supporters have played in bringing the program to life.

“The Victorian Department of Education has provided unparalleled support and scale for AllPlay Learn,” Professor Rinehart said.

“However, the Learn program is the culmination of many years of hard work that would not have been possible without long-term partners such as the AFL and Queensland Ballet, and philanthropic support from friends of AllPlay such as Moose Toys. This award will help us continue to build a program that is already changing the lives of so many children with disabilities.”

“We are incredibly proud of the work Professor Rinehart and her team have achieved over the past 4 years as they strive to make the world an inclusive one for the 1 in 5 children with learning disabilities.  AllPlay has been a pillar program supported by the Moose Happy Kids Foundation and to see the impact recognised via this prestigious award is incredibly heart-warming”, Belinda Gruebner, Moose Toys.

The annual AFR Higher Education Awards celebrate the contribution of higher education to Australian prosperity and quality of life in ten categories. The judging panel includes the editor of the AFR, current and former vice-chancellors and chancellors and other experts in higher education.